Friday, August 29, 2008

More about me

I've been told that there aren't enough pictures of myself here on this blog so I thought I'd better oblige.

Dan took this picture the other morning - I wanted a pic of my scarf.. which I really love. Knitted out of Noro Silk Garden yarn, it just gets softer and softer as it ages. I'm quite into purple at the moment, wearing my usual dark coloured clothes with a splash or more of purple or red. I'm liking this new found style (I guess that's what one calls it). I also love the pattern of this scarf. It's knitted in one piece but looks like the pieces are sewn together. Neat trick! (I couldn't decide whether to put on fringing or not, hence those two ends that haven't been sewn in. I've decided now (no fringe) and I'll get around to hiding those bits soon.)

Some random facts about me:
  • I'm 5'2"-ish tall. I've been this height pretty much since I was 12. Thought I might get a bit taller during my teenage years but unfortunately did not :(

  • I wanted to be an author when I grew up. I was a huge fan of Roald Dahl. I even wrote him a letter once and got a great reply. I'll see if I can dig it up and show you one day.

  • I learned piano when I was younger. I got up to Grade 7, one below the top level. I stopped in order to concentrate on my final two years of high school. I always regret not finishing off the grades.

  • I was born in Sydney and have lived here my entire life... except for two months when I was 18 when I went up to the Torres Strait for the summer.

  • I'm allergic to cat fur. And yet I have always had a cat since our first dear pet arrived on our doorstep when I was 11. Heh. Sucker for punishment!

  • I'm great with numbers. I can remember phone numbers and birthdays really easily. Names I'm not always so good at. And my arithmetic's not crash hot (which brings much amusement to my friends, since I majored in Pure Maths at Uni).

  • I'm the only one in my family who has never needed glasses. My second and third brothers only had them for a short time, but everyone else has needed them (until my fourth brother had laser eye surgery).

  • Following from that - I'm the youngest of five children, and the only girl. Yes, I was/am spoiled a bit because of that :) We are a fairly close family - we all live in Sydney and always have. We try to get together regularly, every fortnight or more if possible. Even the non-school-age kids all go to the same child care centre!

  • I'm a stickler for spelling. The dictionary is my favourite book.

  • I'm not full Chinese (ethnically). My maternal grandfather was half Chinese, a quarter Spanish and a quarter Welsh!

  • I'm inherently lazy. If I can get away with not doing something, I won't. Or is that I will?

And on that note, I shall leave you this day.

1 comment:

mariannealice said...

I had a growth spurt at 12 and hit 5'3"- and then stopped!Must be those Chinese short genes. Makes me wonder how my brothers managed to reach 6'.I have high hopes that at least one of my girls will be tall enough to buy jeans and wear them without having to take them up. I think Rose will definitely be able to do that!